My heart is aching

Last night I, along with the rest of the world, watched the news unfold of the terrors of Paris. My heart shattered. It has not even been a year since the Charlie Hebdo shootings, and now it has come to this.

I do not want to erase what happened, but I want to draw your attention to the world.

Last night, Beirut was bombed by suicide bombers brought to you by ISIS. There was a suicide bombing at a funeral in Iraq. Japan felt the shocks of an earthquake. Mexico was shaken in the same way.

Friday, November 13th, is not another day. Not for the world. Too many lives were lost in acts of terror and natural disasters. And there sits Facebook, with their French flag filter.

Where is the care for the rest of the world? Where is the hurt?

I am writing this because I am still in shock. I am not totally sure what is going to happen to the world following yesterday. People are calling for Europe to shut down its border to refugees, who are simply trying to flee the same horrors that shook the world last night. No one I have seen has given a hoot about anyone but France.

I am not trying to say what happened in Paris was nothing short of horrific terrorism, but what I am saying is that the world needs to care. Changing a Facebook profile and posting your “thoughts and prayers” are not solving anything. The world was shaken to the core last night.

Bombings and terrorism are occurring every day in the Middle East; it just takes one attack on Europe to get people to listen.

Then there are Japan and Mexico. Natural disasters and scary moments cloaked by acts of terrorism in other parts of the world.

I am not sure what we are supposed to do, nor am I proposing any better ideas. What I am begging you to do, is to care about the world.

Stand with the world. We lost too many last night to not take notice.

Friday, November 13th, 2015, is a day that I will surely never forget because it is the day that all of the things I have learned came to light. The world is a scary place, but there are people who will help. I want to help you, world, I just have no idea where to start.

Leave a Reply

