2016 in review

13692844_1065100580247990_3639536462575534791_o

Goodbye 2016

I feel I owe you a year end wrap up, reader. After all we have been through, it seems to make the most sense. Since coming home from Sweden, I have been lost in reflection and relearning what it means to be an American in America. That means remembering how to drive, ordering food, grocery shopping, and thinking about classes. It has all been quite strange but comforting in the same time. I still say skål instead of cheers, but I do not plan on ever changing that. Anyway, it is January 1st, 2017, and this is my end of the year reflection.

365 days. 365 chances to make it the best day ever.

It is so cliche’ but a lot happens in a year. I learned a lot about myself and what it takes for me to be happy. I lost my way at times. I shed more tears then I care to count. I smiled so much that it feels like it is painted on at this point. I have embraced many people… to comfort them, to thank them, to welcome them… 365 days is a lot of time when you look back at it, but in the grand scheme of things, it is nothing.

caprese 4

I took a lot of pictures of food

My dear reader, this past year involved a lot of firsts. My first time with a 4.0 GPA in college. My first time working at 1 am. My first time interning. My first time fishing. My first time on top of a mountain. My first time cliff jumping. My first time at a party. My first time in Norway. Sweden. Denmark. Amsterdam. Scotland. My first time truly living alone.

You already know about the amazing times studying abroad, the people I met, and the food I ate. However, the year was much more than that. For the first time I felt like I belonged in my major and that I could actually achieve something in Public Relations. Working for The Broadmoor was the happiest summer of my life because I felt valued in my field. Plus I got the chance to eat good food and do amazing things. I will forever be grateful to Allison Scott for the opportunities she gave me. Krista changed my life. Hannah brought me joy and laughs every single day.

At the University of Denver, I finished my Junior year. I met my best friends. I was an RA. I crushed it in my classes. I found my rhythm. I got into a study abroad program. This college is truly a joy for me, and I love working and studying here every single day. Not a lot of people get the opportunities that I get every day. I will never take that for granted.

Finally, I wanted to take the time to thank some important people in my life. My mom and

15170986_1179713162120064_2562769547987244383_n

Thanks, Sweden

dad for always supporting me and being there when life gets rough. My brother for keeping me grounded with his sarcasm and love. Victoria Minton for inspiring me to chase my dreams. Jenna Janssen for being the best travel partner a person could ever ask for. Travis Holian for reminding me just how much I am loved. Sarah, Kelsey, and Annie for being the most beautiful and strongest women I know and for being the best roommates ever. Karl, Roxy, Philip, Meki, Thomas, Dalia, Loke, Ellen, Max, Daesung, Nicoline, and all the Sweden babes for making my life so much better and bringing each of their pieces of personality and intelligence into my world.

And to you, reader. I never expect anyone to read these posts, but your views and words make me want to write more and more. I only hope I can keep you coming back for more.

So, here is to 365 days of 2016. Thanks for happening, but it is time for 2017. It is time to keep moving and pushing. It is time to live in the moment. It is time to have a new experience every day.DSC_0521

So get out there, reader, and live your life to your highest standards. If the going gets tough, count to three and do what scares you. Do not let another year go by where you do not do something you love. Good luck and be safe out there.

Leave a Reply

